Skydiving to Salute – Iwo Jima Marines

William N. Lindsay III

William N. Lindsay III

William N. Lindsay III


William Lindsay, Chairman of the Board of Children’s Hospital, and a Marine who served in RVN.

Enlisted in Marines in 1968 as part of the PLC program. He commissioned as 2nd Lieutenant in May, 1972, and attended The Basic School then Recon. Replacement School prior to being deployed as a rifle platoon commander with I Company, 3/7, 1st Mar Div in Vietnam.

His tour in Vietnam involved combat activity in the Que Son Mountains southwest of Da Nang. Then was assigned to G Company, 2/4, 3rd Mar Div in Okinawa. Ultimately became the commander of the camp guard at Camp Hansen, Okinawa. Upon rotation to the states, he was assigned as a training company commander at the Infantry Training Regiment (later the Infantry Training School) at Camp Pendleton and ran two training companies simultaneously.

Bill is currently the Principal with Lindsay3, LLC a consulting firm focused on strategic planning around health care reform, insurance and insurance brokerage activities. He recently retired as the President of the Lockton Benefit Group-Denver, an employee benefits brokerage and consulting firm. His active public and civic life includes: facilitating the creation of Colorado’s Health Insurance Exchange legislation, Chair of Colorado’s Commission on Affordable Health Care, Chair of Colorado’s Blue Ribbon Commission on Health Care Reform, Inaugural Board Chair of the Colorado Children’s Basic Health Plan Policy Board, Board Chair of the oldest small business coalition in the United States, National Small Business Association, Grant Review & Award panel member for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Past member of the National Advisory Council of the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy, past Board member and current health committee chair for the Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce.

His accolades include being a recipient of the National Governor’s Association Award for Service to the States, the John Ingelhard Award for his work on health policy in Colorado, and the Del Hock Memorial Award for his service to Denver, among others.